Skip to main content

New Year, New Minimum Wage

January 3, 2019

As of January 1, 2019, the minimum wage increased in over 20 states. Employers with workers in Arizona, Colorado, and Florida should note the following rates that are effective January 1:

Arizona – $11.00
Colorado – $11.10
Florida – $8.46

The minimum wage in Nevada will also see an increase in 2019, to $8.25, effective as of July 1, 2019, for employers who do not provide certain benefits. In a number of states, municipalities and other jurisdictions have higher rates. In Arizona, for example, the City of Flagstaff mandates a minimum wage of $12.00 per hour for 2019.

A complete list of minimum wage changes around the country can be found here. Employers should also be aware that a number of state laws provide for increased penalties and other employer obligations, such as Missouri’s new statute, which is discussed here.

Key Takeaways

  1. Compliance with minimum wage laws in multiple jurisdictions is becoming increasingly complex, as state and local laws have significant differences and nuances.
  2. Employers with questions about how changes in minimum wage law(s) will impact their business should contact their employment lawyer for advice.

This blog post was drafted by Helen Holden. She is an attorney in Spencer Fane LLP’s Phoenix, Arizona Office. For more information, please visit