Spencer Fane LLP Logo

Joe Bednar Receives 2018 Carnahan Award for Public Service

Spencer Fane LLP Partner Joe Bednar has been named recipient of the 2018 Governor Mel Carnahan Award for Public Service. The award, named after the former Missouri Governor, recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions through their public service, both paid and volunteer, in the government, education, nonprofit, or legal sectors.

Joe served as Governor Carnahan’s Chief Legal Counsel, and served a total of seven years in Missouri State Government, advising three different Governors – Carnahan, Wilson and Holden. During this time, Joe participated in the judicial selection process and reviewed bills passed by the Missouri General Assembly to determine their legal ramifications. He worked on matters related to child welfare and women’s reproductive health. He also counseled the Governors regarding the state’s financial matters.

His six-year tenure as an Assistant County Prosecuting Attorney for Jackson County, coupled with his civil practice experience, has provided him courtroom experience from Circuit Court to the Missouri Supreme Court, and is ample evidence of his formidable litigation skills.

Joe has been recognized by former Missouri Governor Nixon for caring involvement and mentoring of young men engaged in the Boy Scouts, and has served his community throughout his career. Joe represented his neighbors, without pay, to help preserve the quality of their neighborhood, and went to the aid of his former neighbors, again without pay, to help avoid a potential public safety issue in the neighborhood.

As chair of the Spencer Fane Government Relations practice, Joe assists clients in government relations matters. He helps align the interests of government officials and businesses, and provides a unique perspective when analyzing the impact of federal, state and local laws and regulations on businesses.

Please join us in thanking Joe for his public service endeavors, and in congratulating him for the honor of receiving the Carnahan Award for Public Service.