Spencer Fane LLP Logo

Former Assistant Attorney General Joins Spencer Fane LLP

Firm Welcomes Tom George to Municipal and Local Governments Team

Spencer Fane is pleased to announce that former Colorado Assistant Attorney General Tom George has joined the firm. Tom will join the Municipal and Local Governments practice group as Of Counsel.

“Tom brings a wealth of experience to our firm and clients, including his invaluable experience as a leader in our community and public servant—a strength that complements our firm’s client service approach to doing business,” Spencer Fane Managing Partner Ron Fano said. “Tom is incredibly adept at developing solutions for the complex and versatile issues that often arise in matters of local government, and we are very pleased to welcome him to our firm.”

Tom provides general counsel support to governmental entities on issues related to formation, statutory compliance, elections, public finance, proposed legislation, intergovernmental agreements, and general operations. Tom started his legal career working with municipal and local governments as an associate at Grimshaw & Harring, P.C. Prior to joining the firm, he served as an Assistant Attorney General in the Natural Resources and Environment Section at the Colorado Department of Law, where he represented the Division of Water Resources, the Colorado Water Conservation Board, and other state agencies in water rights litigation, and state and federal water policy matters.

Tom received his juris doctor from the University of Arizona, Rogers College of Law, where he was Articles Editor for the Journal of International and Comparative Law. He earned his bachelor’s degree in economics from the University of Colorado at Boulder, where he attended as a Boettcher Scholar. Tom enjoys serving his community as a member of the Jefferson County Community Development Advisory Board and the Boettcher Scholar Alumni Board. Over the past several years he has volunteered as a YMCA Youth Basketball coach and served on the CU Boulder Alumni Association Board of Directors.